中文版  
 
Home
News
International exchange
Research
Database
Publication
Museum
Forum
About IA CASS
 
International exchange
Academic activities & conferences
Co-operation projects

Introduction
Administration
Academic departments
Archaeologists
Graduate education
Research center of Ancient Civilization
Conservation and research center of cultural heritage
MORE
Resource & Links
Universities
Museums
Digital museums
Research institutes
Other resources
Archaeological web sites in the world
MORE
HomeInternational exchangeAcademic activities & conferences
King Meneptah Column arrives at Grand Egyptian Museum
From:Ahram Online  Writer:  Date:2018-03-13
The Column of King Meneptah arrived Saturday at its permanent display area in the atrium of the Grand Egyptian Museum (GEM) in Giza.

King Meneptah was the fourth king of the 19th Dynasty and the son of King Ramses II. He ruled for 10 years, from 1213-1203 BC.

Tarek Tawfik, supervisor general of the Grand Egyptian Museum, told Ahram Online that the pillar was discovered in 1970 inside Meneptah Temple in Matariya archaeological site, east of Arab Al-Hesn area.


It is carved in red granite with a limestone base. It is decorated with engravings of the king’s different titles, cartouche and scenes depicting his victory in wars against Libyan tribes.

The pillar is 17 tons in weight and 5.6 metres tall. It was first transported in 2008 to the Salaheddin Citadel for conservation and restoration as the residential area around it was suffering with high levels of subterranean water.

The pillar was then kept in the Citadel for 10 years until it was chosen to be among the GEM exhibits. It is to be put on show in the atrium at the GEM's main entrance, neighbouring the colossus of his father, Ramses II.

Eissa Zidan, director general of First-Aid Restoration at the GEM, explained that great care was taken before transportation, the pillar restored after comprehensive study to detect and consolidate its weak points.

It took eight hours to prepare the pillar for transportation. A wooden base padded with of layers of foam was made, with the pillar tied with carefully tensioned rope to safeguard it during transportation. The Tourism and Antiquities Police accompanied the pillar on its journey.

Osama Abulkheir, director general of the Restoration Department at the GEM, said that upon its arrival the pillar would be examined and further restoration work completed.





 
Resource & Links | FAQ | About us | Contact us
Copyright 2007 The Institute of Archaeology, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (IA CASS), P.R.China. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: archaeology@cass.org.cn
TEL:86-10-85115250 FAX: 86-10-65135532